What am I doing in England?

Back in 1990, I travelled around the world with my wife, Jane. For the first three months, we toured the country in a tiny car, staying mostly in Youth Hostels and visiting out of the way places. One of my simple memories was the visitor books in each hostel. The reason? Each signature had a well-used notation alongsideed00c90a68c5397ac492b30ee3509996, ‘ABC’. It didn’t take long to discover what it meant, ‘another bloody church, or another bloody castle’. I soon understood why. After many weeks visiting ancient ruins, they all began to look the same; though the stories were different. Twenty-six years later I am returning to see some of the churches in a new light; specifically Cathedrals.
Having been the Dean of a Cathedral for over two years, I have been plagued by the question, ‘What is a Cathedral in the 21st century?’ So, because there are very few in New Zealand, I am hunting out Cathedrals in the UK that have made strides to understand how ancient worship can coexist in a modern world; how liturgical forms associate with the digital world of mixed media. And, perhaps more importantly, how does a Cathedral speak to its location, diocese and changing civic participation? I am quite hopeful it will be fun.

2 thoughts on “What am I doing in England?

Leave a Reply

